You are here: Home About Advisory Board

Advisory Board

       Continuous feedback from scientific leaders in academia and industry, both within Brazil and worldwide, is an essential part of the process of developing new, and applicationrelevant glass science and technology. Therefore, we have appointed an International Advisory Board, consisting of highly distinguished and internationally renowned glass scientists to guide our actions in an efficient manner and to evaluate the performance of the center at regular intervals. The combined expertise of these researchers covers all the key fields of the present research project (structure, crystallization, mechanical, optical, electrical and chemical properties of glasses and glass-ceramics). The Scopus database indicates that many of the below listed persons are among the world’s most prolific with the keyword “glass*”.

Industry researchers

Dr. Arun Varshneya, Saxon Glass (president), USA – strong glasses

Dr. Leon Glebov, Optigrate (president), USA - optical properties

Dr. Bruce Aitken, Corning Inc., USA - structure and optical properties

Dr. Mark Davis, Schott USA, glass-ceramics, mechanical, electrical and optical properties

Dr. Wolfram Hoeland, Ivoclar Vivadent, Liechtenstein – glass-ceramics

Academic researchers

Prof. Dr. Steven Martin, Iowa State University, USA- glass synthesis, electrical properties

Prof. Dr. Richard Brow, MST, USA – structure, mechanical and chemical properties

Prof. Dr. Himanshu Jain, IMI, USA - glass structure and electrical properties, education

Prof. Dr. Takayuki Komatsu, Nagaoka University, Japan – laser crystallization, optical

Prof. Dr. Younes Messaddeq, Laval University, Quebec, Canada – glass synthesis, optical 

Prof. Dr. Josef Zwanziger, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada - glass structure, NMR

Prof. Dr. Vladimir Fokin, Vavilov State Optical Institute, Russia - crystallization

Prof. Dr. Y. Yue, Aalborg University, Denmark - relaxation and mechanical properties

Prof. Dr. Long Zhang, Shanghai Institute of Optical and Fine Mechanics, China - glass 

synthesis, optical properties

Prof. Dr. Aldo Boccaccini, Erlangen, Germany – biomaterials, glass-ceramics, mechanical

Prof. Dr. Juern Schmelzer, Rostock, Germany - crystallization theory

Prof. Dr. Joachim Deubener, Clausthal, Germany - crystallization, rheological and mechanical properties

Prof. Dr. Christian Ruessel, Jena, Germany - crystallization, chemical and bio properties

Prof. Dr. Annie Pradel, Montpellier, France - glass synthesis, electrical properties

Prof. Dr. Jean-Luc Adam, Rennes, France - glass synthesis, optical and electrical properties,

Prof. Dr. Luiz Carlos, Aveiro, Portugal - porous materials, self-assembly, optical properties