Advisory board

Continuous feedback from scientific leaders in academia and industry, both within Brazil and worldwide, is an essential part of the process of developing new, and application relevant glass science and technology. Therefore, we have appointed an International Advisory Board, consisting of highly distinguished and internationally renowned glass scientists to guide our actions in an efficient manner and to evaluate the performance of the center at regular intervals. The combined expertise of these researchers covers all the key fields of the present research project (structure, crystallization, mechanical, optical, electrical and chemical properties of glasses and glass-ceramics). The Scopus database indicates that many of the below listed persons are among the world’s most prolific with the keyword “glass*”.

Industry researchers

  • Arun Varshneya, Saxon Glass, USA
  • Leon Glebov, Optigrate, USA
  • Bruce Aitken, Corning Inc., USA
  • Mark Davis, Schott, USA - in Memorian
  • Shingo Nakane, Nippon Electric Glass, Japan
  • Markus Rampf, Ivoclar, AG, Liechtenstein
  • Satoshi Yoshida,  AGC
  • Dr. Martin Letz, SCHOTT AG, Germany

Academic researchers

  • Steve Martin, Iowa State University, USA
  • Richard Brow, MST, USA
  • Himanshu Jain, Lehigh University
  • Takayuki Komatsu, Nagaoka University, Japan
  • Younes Messaddeq, Laval University, Quebec, Canada
  • Josef Zwanziger, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada
  • Vladimir Fokin, Vavilov State Optical Institute, Russia
  • Y. Yue, Aalborg University, Denmark
  • Long Zhang, Shanghai Institute of Optical and Fine
  • Mechanics, China
  • Aldo Boccaccini, Erlangen University, Germany
  • Joachim Deubener, Clausthal University, Germany
  • Dusan Galusek, Trenchin, Slovak Republic
  • Christian Rüssel, Jena, Germany
  • Annie Pradel, University of Montpellier, France
  • Jean-Luc Adam, University of Rennes, France
  • Kei Maeda, Tokyo University of Science, Japan